Tariff Check

Directory › Home & kitchen

Are home and kitchen goods tariffed in Canada?

Furniture, mattresses, rugs and cookware. Each of the 8 entries below is checked item by item against the Department of Finance list of 648 U.S. products subject to Canada's counter-tariffs, in force since September 8, 2026. Rates as of September 10, 2026.

A US brand is not the same thing as a US-origin good. These surtaxes apply to goods by country of origin. They do not apply to companies. An American brand manufacturing in Mexico is not covered; a German or Korean brand manufacturing in Tennessee is.

How to read the labels
Made in Canada
Manufactured in Canada.
Not US-made
Made outside the United States, so outside these tariffs, but not Canadian-made. Still a valid answer, just not the same answer.
Depends on the model
The brand builds the same product in more than one country, including the US. The unit in the box decides.
Origin unconfirmed
Where it is manufactured could not be established.
Confirmed by the maker
The manufacturer states it on their own site or in their own press material.
Reported by a third party
Someone credible says so, or the maker claims it in general terms without specifics.
Not verified
Recorded as an absence of evidence. Shown rather than hidden, because a directory that quietly guesses is worse than one that admits the gap.

Home & kitchen

Furniture, mattresses, rugs and cookware.

Home & kitchen

Furniture, sofas and chairs

Furniture is the most finely split category on this site, and the split follows construction rather than price or size. An upholstered sofa or armchair on a wooden frame is 25%. The same seat on a metal frame is 50%. A wooden dining chair with no upholstery is 50%. Wooden kitchen furniture is 25%, wooden bedroom furniture is 50%, other wooden furniture for the home is 50%, and metal and plastic furniture are both 50%. One line is missing outright: 9401.31, wooden swivel chairs with height adjustment, is not on the list, while the non-wooden version of that same office chair is 50%.

Seats, other furniture and parts thereof

25% or 50%
Tariff items behind this rate (10)
  • 9401.61.1025%Other seats, with wooden frames: Upholstered: For domestic purposes
  • 9401.69.1050%Other seats, with wooden frames: Other: For domestic purposes
  • 9401.71.1050%Other seats, with metal frames: Upholstered: For domestic purposes
  • 9401.39.1050%Swivel seats with variable height adjustment: Other: For domestic purposes
  • 9403.40.0025%Wooden furniture of a kind used in the kitchen
  • 9403.50.0050%Wooden furniture of a kind used in the bedroom
  • 9403.60.1050%Other wooden furniture: For domestic purposes
  • 9403.20.0050%Other metal furniture
  • 9403.70.1050%Furniture of plastics: For domestic purposes
  • 9403.91.0025%Parts: Of wood

What people get wrong

This is one of the few categories where the naive rule - American brand, American factory - is close to right, and it is worth knowing why rather than getting it right by luck. Upholstered furniture is bulky and expensive to ship, so the big US recliner and sofa brands really do build in the United States and Mexico. It also means the Canadian answers here are real manufacturers rather than importers, which is rarer on this site than you would hope.

Work out what this adds to a purchase

What to buy instead
  • Durham Furniture

    Solid wood bedroom furniture

    Source: durhamfurniture.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Durham, Ontario

    Its own site says all of its furniture is made from sustainably harvested solid wood at its plant in the Town of Durham, Ontario. Bedroom furniture is the 50% line, so this is the largest single saving in the category.

    Visit Durham Furniture

  • Canadel

    Dining tables and chairs

    Source: canadel.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Louiseville, Quebec

    Publishes its Louiseville, Quebec plant address and says roughly 1,150 chairs and 200 tables are hand-assembled and hand-finished there daily. Its own marketing phrase is "proudly made in North America" rather than "made in Canada", so confirm the specific piece if that distinction matters to you.

    Visit Canadel

  • EQ3

    Custom upholstery only

    Source: eq3.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Winnipeg, Manitoba

    Listed for the custom upholstery line specifically. EQ3 says product design, R and D and custom upholstery manufacturing all happen at its Winnipeg headquarters - and says in the same breath that its products "might not always be made in Canada". Credit for saying so. The rest of the catalogue is sourced from partners and was not checked here.

    Visit EQ3

Not what you would guess
  • La-Z-Boy

    Recliners and upholstered sofas

    Source: la-z-boy.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Depends on the modelConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Tennessee, Missouri and Arkansas, plus three plants in Mexico

    La-Z-Boy lists its own plants: Dayton in Tennessee, Neosho in Missouri and Siloam Springs in Arkansas, alongside three in Mexico. It does not publish which plant builds which model, and the two countries land on opposite sides of this surtax. Upholstered wooden-frame seating is the 25% line rather than the 50% one, which softens it, but the origin marking is the only thing that settles it.

    Visit La-Z-Boy

Home & kitchen

Mattresses and bedding

Nothing. Heading 9404 - mattress supports, mattresses of every construction, duvets, quilts, pillows and cushions - does not appear anywhere in the 648 tariff items. The bedroom furniture standing next to the bed is 50%. The mattress on it is not on the list at all.

Mattress supports; articles of bedding and similar furnishing

Not on the listThese goods do not appear on the official tariff-item list.

Why it is widely believed otherwise

Furniture is on the list prominently and at the top rate, and a mattress is sold in furniture stores, by furniture retailers, next to furniture that is tariffed. The tariff schedule puts bedding in its own heading, and that heading was not taken.

What people get wrong

Canada has an unusually deep domestic mattress industry, for the ordinary reason that mattresses are bulky, awkward to ship and cheap relative to their volume. Those makers are worth knowing about - but not on a tariff pretext, because there is no surtax here to avoid. Only what could be sourced is listed below; several other Canadian brands describe themselves as Canadian-made without publishing enough to check.

Work out what this adds to a purchase

Canadian-made anyway
  • Polysleep

    Foam mattresses and toppers

    Source: polysleep.ca · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Montreal, Quebec

    Carries "Proudly Made in Canada" in its own site branding and describes producing locally in Montreal. Its own wording refers to working closely with "our manufacturer", so this reads as Canadian contract manufacturing rather than a factory Polysleep owns. Canadian-made either way.

    Visit Polysleep

Home & kitchen

Rugs, carpet and floor coverings

A floor is one decision to a renovator and several different chapters to Canada's counter-tariff list, and the gap between the cheapest common floors is the widest spread this site has found on a single shopping trip. Carpet is chapter 57, and chapter 57 was taken close to whole: 32 tariff items, and every one of them is on the list. Thirty are 25% - wool rugs, made-up pile rugs, machine-tufted nylon broadloom, carpet tiles, and the catch-all at 5705.00.00 for other textile floor coverings. Two are not, and they sit together. 5703.39, machine-tufted carpet of man-made materials other than nylon, has two tariff items beneath it and both are 50%. Two rolls that look identical on a showroom floor can sit on either side of that, and the difference is the fibre, which is on the label rather than in the look. Vinyl is not chapter 57 at all. It is chapter 39, the plastics chapter, at heading 39.18, floor coverings of plastics. Its subheading for polymers of vinyl chloride, 3918.10, has two tariff items and both are 50%. That is the luxury vinyl plank and the sheet vinyl that have taken over the low end of the flooring market, and 50% is the highest band on the list. The subheading beside it, 3918.90, floor coverings of other plastics, was not taken at all - so the material, not the product, is what decides. And then the absences, which are the useful part. Solid hardwood strip flooring is heading 44.09, continuously shaped wood, and 44.09 is not on the list. Engineered and assembled flooring panels are heading 44.18, builders' joinery and carpentry of wood, and 44.18 is not on the list. Laminate is heading 44.11, fibreboard, and 44.11 is not on the list. Particleboard and OSB underlayment at 44.10 are not on the list. Ceramic and porcelain tile - headings 69.07 and 69.08, which between them cover every glazed and unglazed floor tile there is - are not on the list. Neither are the stone and concrete floor articles of 68.10. Linoleum is the sharpest of them. Linoleum is heading 59.04, and 59.04 is not on the list, while the vinyl sheet sold off the roll beside it is 50%. A shopper cannot tell those two apart by looking, and one of them carries the top rate while the other carries none. One caution about the subfloor, because it does not follow the finish floor. Plywood is heading 44.12 and every one of its thirteen tariff items is 50%, which this site records under doors, windows and building materials. So a hardwood floor is untariffed and the plywood underlayment it is nailed to is not.

Carpets and other textile floor coverings; floor coverings of plastics

25%on carpet, 50% on vinyl
Tariff items behind this rate (9)
  • 5701.10.1025%Of wool or fine animal hair: Machine knotted
  • 5702.42.0025%Other, of pile construction, made up: Of man-made textile materials
  • 5703.29.1025%Of nylon or other polyamides: Other: Machine tufted
  • 5703.39.1050%Of other man-made textile materials: Other: Machine tufted
  • 5703.39.9050%Of other man-made textile materials: Other: Other
  • 5704.10.0025%Tiles, having a maximum surface area of 0,3 m2
  • 5705.00.0025%Other carpets and other textile floor coverings, whether or not made up
  • 3918.10.1050%Of polymers of vinyl chloride: Wall or ceiling coverings combined with knitted or woven fabrics, nonwovens or felt
  • 3918.10.9050%Of polymers of vinyl chloride: Other

What people get wrong

Carpet is heavy and cheap per kilogram, which is exactly the profile of a good that gets made near where it is sold, so there is Canadian production here. Hardwood is the same story with better paperwork. The awkward one is vinyl, which is both the line that carries 50% and the line where a Canadian-sounding brand is least likely to mean a Canadian-made floor. The flooring aisle is full of Canadian companies, and a company is not a factory. TORLYS was founded in Toronto in 1988 and is about as Canadian as a flooring brand gets - and its own about page says the company evolved into a "virtual manufacturer". That is the company describing itself, and it is a straight answer to a question most brands leave open: TORLYS does not make its floors. What it does not say is who does, or where, and TORLYS sells vinyl, which is the 50% line. Beaulieu is the reverse and needs the same care for a different reason. Its own site now says it is "a leading Canadian carpet manufacturer" and lists a portfolio that runs well past carpet - "broadloom, needle felt, and grass carpet, as well as carpet tiles, laminate, engineered hardwood, and a wide selection of vinyl flooring collections". Read that sentence carefully. It is a manufacturing claim about carpet attached to a catalogue that includes vinyl, and it never says the vinyl is made where the carpet is. This is the Richelieu problem from the hardware entry in a different aisle: real Canadian plants, a much wider catalogue, and no published mapping from one to the other. So this site can point at Canadian-made carpet and Canadian-made hardwood on the manufacturers' own words, and cannot point at a Canadian-made vinyl floor. If you are replacing a floor and the tariff is what is driving the decision, the strongest move is not a brand at all - it is that hardwood, engineered wood, laminate, tile and linoleum are not on Canada's list in the first place, whoever made them and wherever they came from.

Work out what this adds to a purchase

What to buy instead
  • Beaulieu Canada

    Broadloom carpet, carpet tile and area rugs

    Source: madeinca.ca · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaReported by a third party

    Where it is made: Acton Vale, Quebec

    One of the largest carpet manufacturers in the country, producing at Acton Vale, Quebec with around 500 employees. Owned by the Beaulieu International Group of Belgium - so Canadian-made and foreign-owned, which is the same shape as DECIEM in skincare and the opposite of the usual warning. Its own site calls itself "a leading Canadian carpet manufacturer with over 70 years of experience in the manufacturing and distribution of floor covering" but does not publish the plant location, so the Acton Vale detail rests on secondary sourcing and this stays reported rather than verified. Note the scope of the first-party claim as well: the same page lists laminate, engineered hardwood and vinyl collections alongside the carpet, and the manufacturing sentence is about carpet. This row is about the carpet.

    Visit Beaulieu Canada

  • Mercier Wood Flooring

    Solid and engineered hardwood flooring

    Source: mercier-wood-flooring.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Sawmill at Drummondville, Quebec; finishing at Montmagny, Quebec

    One of the few rows on this site where a company describes its own production line end to end. Mercier says it has been "vertically integrated for over twenty years", that "our Drummondville, Quebec, hardwood sawmill provides the raw lumber materials that we use", and that "the meticulously manufactured Solid and Engineered wood floorboards are then sent to Montmagny, Quebec, to our head office, which regroups finishing operations, from the finish and staining applications to delivery". Sawn in Quebec, finished in Quebec, said by Mercier. Hardwood and engineered flooring are headings 44.09 and 44.18 and neither is on Canada's counter-tariff list, so buying this saves no surtax. It is here because it is the answer to the question a reader actually has when the vinyl they wanted turns out to be 50%.

    Visit Mercier Wood Flooring

Not what you would guess
  • TORLYS

    Vinyl, laminate, hardwood and cork floors

    Source: torlys.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Origin unconfirmedNot verified

    Where it is made: Not stated - the company describes itself as a "virtual manufacturer"

    Here because a Toronto-founded flooring company selling vinyl is exactly the row a shopper would assume is safe. TORLYS says on its own about page that the company was founded in 1988 in Toronto, Ontario, and that under later leadership it "evolved into a virtual manufacturer, pioneering many industry-first innovations in Canada". Virtual manufacturer is their phrase, not ours, and it is unusually honest: the company designs and sells floors it does not produce. It does not follow that the floors are US-origin - they may well not be - and it does not follow that they are not. It follows only that the brand cannot answer the question, and vinyl is the 50% line, so on a vinyl purchase the answer has to come from the country of origin on the carton rather than from the name on it.

    Visit TORLYS

  • Shaw Floors

    Resilient and luxury vinyl flooring

    Source: shawinc.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Depends on the modelConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Manufactured in the United States from globally sourced materials; headquartered in Dalton, Georgia

    Shaw is the largest name in North American flooring and it states its own position on the 50% line directly. Its manufacturing page says that "our recent investments in resilient manufacturing reflect our commitment to addressing the increasing demand for resilient flooring" and that this is done "by expanding our manufacturing capabilities in the U.S. and sourcing high-quality materials globally". Resilient is the trade word for vinyl. The page also says Shaw is "headquartered in Dalton, Georgia" and is a wholly owned subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway. Marked mixed rather than a flat US origin for the reason Shaw itself gives: US manufacturing plus global sourcing means the carton, not the brand, decides. Where a plank is US-origin it lands on 3918.10.90 at 50%, the top band.

    Visit Shaw Floors

Home & kitchen

Pots, pans and cookware

Metal cookware is on the list at 25%: stainless steel pots and pans, enamelled steel, aluminium pans, and even steel wool and pot scourers. Three things sitting on the same shelf are not on it at all. Cast iron cookware has its own lines, 7323.91 and 7323.92, and neither was taken. Ceramic and porcelain tableware (headings 6911 and 6912) are absent. So is glassware (7013). A stainless saucepan is caught; the cast iron skillet and the porcelain dinner set beside it are not.

Table, kitchen or other household articles of iron, steel or aluminium

25%
Tariff items behind this rate (5)
  • 7323.93.9025%Other: Of stainless steel: Other
  • 7323.94.0025%Other: Of iron (other than cast iron) or steel, enamelled
  • 7323.99.0025%Other: Other
  • 7615.10.0025%Table, kitchen or other household articles and parts thereof; pot scourers and scouring or polishing pads, gloves and the like
  • 7323.10.0025%Iron or steel wool; pot scourers and scouring or polishing pads, gloves and the like

What people get wrong

This is the clearest case on the site of the list cutting across a shelf rather than across a country. To restate what the surtax actually attaches to: a US-origin stainless pot is tariffed, and a stainless pot of any other origin is not, no matter whose name is on it. The most famously American-made object in the whole aisle, a cast iron skillet, is not on the list on either count.

Work out what this adds to a purchase

What to buy instead
  • Paderno

    Stainless steel cookware

    Source: paderno.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Prince Edward Island

    Its own site says the first Canadian Paderno plant opened on Prince Edward Island in 1979 and that Paderno continues to produce cookware there today. Not every item sold under the name is PEI-made - the brand is owned by Canadian Tire and the factory by Meyer, and accessories in particular are imported - so check the country of origin on the specific piece.

    Visit Paderno

Not what you would guess
  • Lodge

    Seasoned cast iron cookware

    Source: lodgecastiron.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Depends on the modelConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: South Pittsburg, Tennessee

    Here as the reverse of the usual warning, and the sharpest example on the site. Lodge says it operates two foundries in South Pittsburg, Tennessee. That is about as US-origin as a consumer good gets - and cast iron is not on the tariff list, so it is not surtaxed. Marked mixed because Lodge sells lines beyond the seasoned cast iron and those were not checked here. Avoiding it as an American brand would cost you a cheaper pan for no tariff reason at all.

    Visit Lodge

Home & kitchen

Knives, forks and spoons

This is the most complete coverage of any category on the site. Sixteen lines, all at 25%, and between them they take the knife and the fork almost entirely: the boxed table-cutlery set, the carving knife, every fixed-blade table knife, the folding knife, and on the flatware side every spoon and fork line there is, plated or not, sold as a set or singly. Even the loose replacement blade and the metal handle of a carving knife were taken. Where most categories on this site are a few lines lifted out of a much larger heading, headings 8211 and 8215 were taken close to whole. Then the drawer stops. Heading 8214 is not on the list, and 8214 is where the kitchen cleaver, the chopper and the mincing knife live - so the table knife is surtaxed and the cleaver beside it is not. Nor are scissors and kitchen shears, which are heading 8213. Nor are razors and razor blades, heading 8212. Nor is heading 8210, the hand-operated mechanical gadgets: the can opener, the grinder, the crank whisk. And the things you set the cutlery down on are absent too - porcelain and ceramic tableware under 6911 and 6912, and glassware under 7013, the same three the cookware entry names.

Knives with cutting blades, serrated or not, and blades therefor; spoons, forks, ladles, skimmers, cake-servers, fish-knives, butter-knives, sugar tongs and similar kitchen or tableware

25%
Tariff items behind this rate (16)
  • 8211.10.1025%Sets of assorted articles: Table cutlery
  • 8211.10.9025%Sets of assorted articles: Other
  • 8211.91.1025%Other: Table knives having fixed blades: Carving knives
  • 8211.91.9025%Other: Table knives having fixed blades: Other
  • 8211.92.0025%Other: Other knives having fixed blades
  • 8211.93.0025%Other: Knives having other than fixed blades
  • 8211.94.9025%Other: Blades: Other
  • 8211.95.1125%Other: Handles of base metal: Of table knives having fixed blades: Of carving knives
  • 8215.10.1025%Sets of assorted articles containing at least one article plated with precious metal: Containing spoons, knives and forks, of a kind used at the table
  • 8215.10.9025%Sets of assorted articles containing at least one article plated with precious metal: Other
  • 8215.20.1025%Other sets of assorted articles: Containing spoons, knives and forks, of a kind used at the table
  • 8215.20.9025%Other sets of assorted articles: Other
  • 8215.91.1025%Other: Plated with precious metal: Spoons or forks, of a kind used at the table
  • 8215.91.9025%Other: Plated with precious metal: Other
  • 8215.99.1025%Other: Other: Spoons or forks, of a kind used at the table
  • 8215.99.9025%Other: Other: Other

What people get wrong

The knife has a Canadian answer. The fork does not, and that gap is the whole story of this category. For knives there are real Canadian factories, two of them here, and both make kitchen knives rather than only outdoor ones. For flatware - the spoons and forks of heading 8215 - no Canadian manufacturer could be sourced at all. That is recorded here as a failure to find one rather than as proof that none exists, the same way the outerwear entry records the parka; if you know of a Canadian flatware factory still running, this entry is wrong and should be corrected. What can be said is that the obvious place to look does not answer. Paderno is the Canadian cookware manufacturer this site already recommends for pots and pans, it sells flatware sets under the same name, and its own product pages state no country of origin for them. On the knife side the American answer is both easier to find and easier to check: Cutco has made knives at Olean, New York for more than seventy-five years and states it plainly on its own site - though it states it about knives, and not about everything else it sells. The United States, by contrast, has one flatware manufacturer that says so on its masthead. That makes the 25% on heading 8215 unusually well aimed: an entire heading taken, pointed at an American industry that has largely already left. For most flatware on a Canadian shelf the surtax will not apply, because most of it was never American to begin with.

Work out what this adds to a purchase

What to buy instead
  • North Arm Knives

    Kitchen, hunting and pocket knives

    Source: northarmknives.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Quadra Island, British Columbia

    Its own site states that the knives are manufactured on Quadra Island, British Columbia, with no qualifier limiting it to part of the range - rarer on this site than it should be. Kitchen knives are one of its listed categories, so this answers heading 8211 directly rather than by association. A small maker, and priced like one; listed because the claim is clean, not because it competes on price with a boxed set.

    Visit North Arm Knives

  • Grohmann Knives

    Kitchen and outdoor knives

    Source: novascotia.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaReported by a third party

    Where it is made: Pictou, Nova Scotia

    The best-known Canadian knife factory, making knives in Pictou since 1957, and marked reported rather than verified only because its own site could not be read - grohmannknives.com sits behind bot protection and refused four attempts across two methods. The claim therefore rests on the Nova Scotia provincial tourism listing for the factory, which describes it as manufacturing knives for kitchen and outdoor use and lists factory tours on the premises. That is a credible third party rather than the manufacturer speaking, which is the same treatment given to Samuelsohn. If the site loads for you, read it and settle the confidence properly.

    Visit Grohmann Knives

Not what you would guess
  • Liberty Tabletop

    Stainless flatware

    Source: libertytabletop.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Depends on the modelConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Sherrill, New York

    The sharpest match on this site between a tariff line and a single company. Its own site calls it America's ONLY Flatware Manufacturer, made in Sherrill, New York, and says it has been family-owned and operated there for more than 21 years. Heading 8215 was taken whole at 25%, and this is who is on the other end of it. Marked mixed on the Lodge precedent, because this data has no made-in-usa value and the catalogue was not checked line by line. Worth knowing before assuming the flatware aisle is broadly affected: almost none of the rest of it is American.

    Visit Liberty Tabletop

  • Paderno

    Flatware sets

    Source: paderno.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Origin unconfirmedNot verified

    Where it is made: Not stated on the manufacturer's own product pages

    Here because the cookware entry recommends Paderno and a reader will reasonably carry that across the aisle. It does not carry. Paderno states plainly that it produces cookware in Prince Edward Island; on flatware its own story page says nothing, and the flatware product pages state no country of origin. Third-party listings disagree with each other, so none is cited. Recorded as unconfirmed rather than guessed either way. Not a warning about the product, and not a suggestion that it is American - only that a Canadian name on the cookware does not carry over to the cutlery, and the answer is on the box rather than in the brand.

    Visit Paderno

  • Cutco

    Table knives and steak knives

    Source: cutco.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Depends on the modelConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Olean, New York

    The other American name in this drawer, and the one more likely to already be in a Canadian kitchen - Cutco sells direct into Canada and prices in Canadian dollars. Its own site states that Cutco knives have been made for more than 75 years at its factory in Olean, New York, and that all Cutco knives are American made. Read the noun in that sentence. The claim is about knives, and Cutco also sells tableware that is not a knife; nothing on the site extends Olean to it. So this row is scoped to the knives rather than to the brand, which is the same discipline the Paderno row above applies in the other direction. A Cutco table knife sits in 8211.91 at 25%. Marked mixed on the Lodge precedent, because this data has no made-in-usa value.

    Visit Cutco

Home & kitchen

Food containers, storage bins and bags

This is the one entry on the site where every tariff item cited carries the same rate, and it is the top one. Canada's counter-tariff list - the surtax Canada charges on goods of US origin arriving here - took the container aisle at 50% across three separate chapters, and it did not stop at plastics. Heading 39.24, tableware, kitchenware, other household articles and hygienic or toilet articles of plastics, has two tariff items and both are 50%. 3924.10.00 is tableware and kitchenware: the food storage containers, the plastic cutting boards, the picnic plates and cups, the measuring jugs. 3924.90.00 is the "other" line, and it is the one that catches the rest of the house - storage bins and totes, laundry baskets, buckets, drawer organisers, shower curtains, soap dishes. Between those two items sits most of what is sold in an organisation aisle, at the highest rate on the list. Bags are 39.23, and here only one line was taken. Heading 39.23 covers articles for the conveyance or packing of goods, and it has boxes and cases at 3923.10, sacks and bags at 3923.21 and 3923.29, carboys and bottles at 3923.30, spools at 3923.40, stoppers and lids at 3923.50, and a catch-all at 3923.90. Every one of those is absent except a single tariff item: 3923.21.90, the "other" line beneath sacks and bags of polymers of ethylene, at 50%. Polyethylene is what a garbage bag, a freezer bag and a sandwich bag are made of. Bags of any other plastic, at 3923.29, are not on the list. Nor are the plastic bottles at 3923.30 or the lids at 3923.50. Then paper, which is the surprise. Heading 48.19 is cartons, boxes and other packing containers of paper. Two of its lines were taken and both are 50%: 4819.10.00, cartons, boxes and cases of corrugated paper or paperboard, and 4819.40.00, other sacks and bags. Corrugated is the moving box, the shipping carton and the flat-pack shelf box. The folding cartons of non-corrugated paperboard at 4819.20 - the cereal box - are not on the list, and neither are the box files and letter trays at 4819.60. And then steel. Heading 73.10, cans, drums and similar containers of iron or steel up to 300 litres, was taken whole: all three tariff items, all 50%, including 7310.21.00, which is defined as "cans which are to be closed by soldering or crimping". That is the food can. It is a business-to-business purchase rather than something a shopper picks up, and what a surtax on the empty can does to the price of the full one is not something this site can check; it is recorded here as context rather than as a finding. The absences are what make this entry useful, because unusually the substitutes are not a brand at all - they are a material. Glassware is heading 70.13 and is not on the list. Ceramic and porcelain tableware, headings 69.11 and 69.12, are not on the list. Aluminium casks, drums, cans and boxes at 76.12 are not on the list, so the aluminium can escapes what the steel can did not. Plastic bathroom fixtures - baths, shower trays, washbasins, lavatory seats and covers, cisterns, all of heading 39.22 - are not on the list. Builders' ware of plastics at 39.25 is not on the list. And 39.26, the enormous residual heading for other articles of plastics, is not on the list either: the general catch-all for plastic goods was left alone while the two specific household lines above it were taken at the top rate. A glass storage jar and a plastic one do the same job on the same shelf. One of them is on Canada's list at 50% and the other is not on it at all.

Tableware, kitchenware and other household articles of plastics; sacks and bags of polymers of ethylene; cartons, boxes and sacks of paper; cans, drums and similar containers of iron or steel

50%
Tariff items behind this rate (8)
  • 3924.10.0050%Tableware and kitchenware
  • 3924.90.0050%Other
  • 3923.21.9050%Sacks and bags (including cones): Of polymers of ethylene: Other
  • 4819.10.0050%Cartons, boxes and cases, of corrugated paper or paperboard
  • 4819.40.0050%Other sacks and bags, including cones
  • 7310.10.0050%Of a capacity of 50 litres or more
  • 7310.21.0050%Of a capacity of less than 50 litres: Cans which are to be closed by soldering or crimping
  • 7310.29.0050%Of a capacity of less than 50 litres: Other

What people get wrong

Two things make this category different from most of the site. The first is that the substitute is a material rather than a brand, and that answer needs no sourcing at all: glass, ceramic and aluminium containers are not on Canada's list, whoever made them. That is checked above and it is the strongest advice this entry has. The second is that plastic housewares are the clearest example on the site of a category where American manufacturing is dominant and says so out loud. Sterilite is the case in point. Its own homepage says it has spent over 85 years "creating thoughtfully designed storage containers, bins, and drawers made in the USA", and its story page calls it "the largest plastic housewares manufacturer in North America, with seven manufacturing plants and over 12 million square feet of production space". Note the two different phrases doing two different jobs. The product claim is "made in the USA" and it is unambiguous. The corporate claim is "North America", which is the same word Leland Industries and Gray Tools use elsewhere on this site, and which does not answer a country-of-origin question - and Sterilite's own contact page gives a PO box in Townsend, Massachusetts rather than a plant list, so where the seven plants are is not published. On the Canadian side the strongest answer is in bags rather than bins. Polykar describes itself on its own about page as "an award-winning leader in the manufacturing of sustainable packaging solutions" and says that over more than thirty years "our focus has been on manufacturing environmentally-friendly industrial garbage bags, compostable bags for organic waste collection, food packaging and on recycling polyethylene". It describes a "dual-plant model" and records the opening of a facility in Edmonton, Alberta in 2022. That is a manufacturer describing its own manufacturing, but it never states which plant makes what, which is why the row below is reported rather than verified. For plastic containers and storage bins specifically - the 39.24 lines, which are the ones a household actually buys - no Canadian manufacturer could be sourced for this entry from its own words. That is a gap, it is named rather than filled, and if you know a Canadian maker of household plastic storage that states where it manufactures, that is the row this entry is missing.

Work out what this adds to a purchase

What to buy instead
  • Polykar

    Garbage bags, compostable organic-waste bags and food packaging film

    Source: polykar.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaReported by a third party

    Where it is made: Two plants, one of them in Edmonton, Alberta; head office in Montreal

    The Canadian answer to the one bag line Canada surtaxed. Polykar's own about page calls the company "an award-winning leader in the manufacturing of sustainable packaging solutions" and says that for more than thirty years "our focus has been on manufacturing environmentally-friendly industrial garbage bags, compostable bags for organic waste collection, food packaging and on recycling polyethylene". It refers to a "dual-plant model" and dates the opening of a facility in Edmonton, Alberta to 2022. This is reported rather than verified for a specific reason: the page establishes that Polykar manufactures polyethylene bags and that it has two plants, but never says which products come out of which plant, or states plainly that manufacturing happens in Canada. That is the general-claim-without-specifics case the confidence scale is for. Polyethylene bags are 3923.21.90 at 50%, so this is one of the rows on the site where switching supplier is a real saving rather than a preference.

    Visit Polykar

Not what you would guess
  • Sterilite

    Storage containers, bins and drawers

    Source: sterilite.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Depends on the modelConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Made in the USA on the company's own claim; seven plants, locations not published; PO box address in Townsend, Massachusetts

    The default storage bin in most Canadian stores, and one of the few brands on this site that answers the origin question without being asked. Sterilite's homepage says that "for over 85 years, Sterilite has been creating thoughtfully designed storage containers, bins, and drawers made in the USA", and its story page calls the company "the largest plastic housewares manufacturer in North America, with seven manufacturing plants and over 12 million square feet of production space". Storage bins and drawers are 3924.90.00, which is 50% - the top band - so a US-origin Sterilite tote is among the most heavily surtaxed everyday objects in this directory. Marked mixed rather than a flat US origin on the Lodge precedent: the made-in-the-USA sentence is scoped to containers, bins and drawers, the corporate sentence says North America rather than the United States, the seven plant locations are not published, and the catalogue was not checked line by line. As always the carton settles it, not the brand.

    Visit Sterilite

Home & kitchen

Light fixtures and lamps

Four lines, and three of them end with the same phrase: designed for use solely with light-emitting diode (LED) light sources. That is the test, and it is a strange one, because it does not ask what the fixture is or what it costs. It asks whether the bulb can be changed. A sealed LED ceiling fixture, the kind with no socket in it, is 9405.11.00 at 50%. The same fixture in the same style with an ordinary screw-in socket is 9405.19, which is not on the list - and neither is the bulb you would screw into it, because heading 8539, the bulbs themselves, is absent in its entirety. The surtax lands on the fixture that cannot be re-lamped and misses both halves of the one that can. Then it narrows again, because the LED test only bites in part of the heading. Ceiling and wall fittings were taken at 9405.11, and the catch-all for other luminaires at 9405.42, which is where LED strip, under-cabinet lighting and outdoor floodlights sit; that same line also names motion picture and theatrical spotlights outright. But 9405.21, the electric table, desk, bedside and floor-standing lamp, was not taken - so an LED-only desk lamp is not surtaxed while an LED-only ceiling light above it is. Nor were 9405.31, the Christmas light string; 9405.41, the solar-powered LED path light; 9405.50, the non-electrical lantern; or 9405.61 and 9405.69, illuminated signs and name-plates. Even the parts split. 9405.99 is on the list at 50% and covers parts that are neither glass nor plastic, while 9405.91 and 9405.92 - parts of glass and parts of plastics - are absent. The glass shade is not surtaxed. The metal arm holding it up is.

Chandeliers and other electric ceiling or wall lighting fittings, other electric luminaires and lighting fittings, and parts thereof

50%on LED-only ceiling, wall and built-in fixtures
Tariff items behind this rate (4)
  • 9405.11.0050%Chandeliers and other electric ceiling or wall lighting fittings, excluding those of a kind used for lighting public open spaces or thoroughfares: Designed for use solely with light-emitting diode (LED) light sources
  • 9405.42.1050%Other electric luminaires and lighting fittings: Other, designed for use solely with light-emitting diode (LED) light sources: Motion picture or theatrical spotlights
  • 9405.42.9050%Other electric luminaires and lighting fittings: Other, designed for use solely with light-emitting diode (LED) light sources: Other
  • 9405.99.0050%Parts: Other

Why it is widely believed otherwise

Because lighting reads as one aisle and 50% is the band people have heard about, so the whole aisle looks taken. It is four lines out of a heading with fifteen subheadings. What makes it feel arbitrary is that the test has almost nothing to do with lighting: it turns on whether the light source is fixed in place, which is a manufacturing fact about the fixture rather than anything a shopper would think to check. The suits and knitwear entries on this site show the same shape with fibre - a rule that is invisible on the shelf and decisive on the invoice.

What people get wrong

Lighting is the first category here where the Canadian answer was easy to find and the best-known Canadian claim was the hardest to check, and the distance between those two things is the note. The easy part: Luminaire Authentik of Cowansville, Quebec states on its own site that its fixtures are designed, engineered and manufactured 100% locally in its workshop, with nothing narrowing it to part of the range. That is the cleanest origin sentence read for this site so far. Standard Products, which trades as Stanpro, is the larger Montreal name and is more careful with its words: its SILK LED cylinders are described as designed and assembled in Canada, on the individual product pages rather than as a claim about the company. Assembled is not manufactured, and per-series is not per-catalogue. Both of those are recorded below rather than rounded up. The hard part is the name a reader is most likely to reach for first. Liteline of Richmond Hill, Ontario calls itself Canada's largest independent lighting manufacturer and puts PROUDLY CANADIAN on its front page, and its about page - read on 26 August 2026 - describes it as a lighting manufacturer headquartered in Canada. Headquartered. The page describes a 160,000 square foot facility in Richmond Hill and a distribution centre in Langley, and does not say that fixtures are made at either. That is an absence of a claim and is recorded as one; it is not evidence that anything is imported, and if the company states a manufacturing location anywhere, this paragraph is wrong and should be corrected. Then the American side, which states this site's whole argument better than the site does. Acuity Brands, the parent of Lithonia Lighting, writes on its own site that many Acuity products are manufactured in the U.S. without any ordering modification, and that where a product is typically manufactured in a foreign country, a Buy American ordering option will designate that the product be manufactured in the U.S. instead. Read that twice. The same catalogue number can be American or not, and which one arrives is decided when the order is placed. There is no brand-level answer to whether a Lithonia fixture is US-origin, and no model-level answer either. There is only the unit in the box.

Work out what this adds to a purchase

What to buy instead
  • Luminaire Authentik

    Pendants, ceiling fixtures and wall sconces

    Source: luminaireauthentik.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Made in CanadaConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Cowansville, Quebec

    The clean claim this entry is built on. Its own about page states that the lighting fixtures are designed, engineered and manufactured 100% locally in the workshop in Cowansville, with no qualifier narrowing it to part of the range, and adds that the company sources from businesses within a 30 km radius of the factory. Decorative pendants and sconces for residential and commercial projects, sold online and through three boutiques. A design-led maker at design-led prices, listed because the claim is unqualified and checkable rather than because it competes with a big-box fixture on price.

    Visit Luminaire Authentik

  • Standard Products (Stanpro)

    SILK LED architectural cylinders and other LED luminaires

    Source: standardpro.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Depends on the modelConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: Canada, on the series that say so

    The larger Canadian name in this category, and a carefully worded one. The product page for the 6-inch SILK LED architectural cylinder says the fixture is designed and assembled in Canada, and other lines carry a Canadian Assembled attribute in their listings. Two words there are doing real work. Assembled is not manufactured, and the claim sits on individual product pages rather than on an about page, so it describes those series and not the catalogue behind them. Marked mixed for exactly that reason. This is a row to check a model number against rather than to trust brand-wide - which matters more here than usual, because Stanpro sells precisely the recessed and cylinder fixtures that 9405.11 and 9405.42 cover.

    Visit Standard Products (Stanpro)

Not what you would guess
  • Lithonia Lighting (Acuity Brands)

    LED ceiling, recessed and outdoor fixtures

    Source: insights.acuitybrands.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Depends on the modelConfirmed by the maker

    Where it is made: United States and elsewhere - selectable when the order is placed

    The biggest name in the aisle these four tariff lines actually cover, and the most interesting origin answer on this site. Acuity Brands, which owns Lithonia, writes on its own site that many Acuity products are manufactured in the U.S. without any ordering modification, and that where a product is typically manufactured in a foreign country, a Buy American ordering option will designate that the product be manufactured in the U.S. instead. Origin here is therefore not a property of the brand, and not a property of the model either - it is a line on the purchase order. Note the quantifier as well: many, not all. Marked mixed because that is literally what the company describes rather than an inference about it. If you are buying Lithonia in Canada this autumn, the country of origin printed on the carton is the only thing that settles it.

    Visit Lithonia Lighting (Acuity Brands)

  • Liteline

    Recessed, track and LED fixtures

    Source: liteline.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Origin unconfirmedNot verified

    Where it is made: Not stated on the company's own about page

    Here because a reader looking for a Canadian fixture will find this name first and reasonably stop there. Liteline is Canadian-owned, family-run since 1979, based at Richmond Hill, Ontario, and calls itself Canada's largest independent lighting manufacturer. What its about page says about geography is that it is a lighting manufacturer headquartered in Canada; it describes a 160,000 square foot facility in Richmond Hill and a distribution centre in Langley without saying that fixtures are made at either. Read on 26 August 2026. That is an absence of a claim and nothing more. This row is not a suggestion that the product is imported and certainly not that it is American - Liteline is a Canadian company. It carries no source because there is no origin claim to cite. If the company states one, replace this row with it.

    Visit Liteline

Home & kitchen

Sports, fitness and outdoor gear

Heading 95.06 is the sporting goods heading and it has seventeen subheadings. Three were taken, and the three that were taken are the two catch-alls and one oddity. The first is 9506.91.00, articles and equipment for general physical exercise, gymnastics or athletics, at 50% - that is the home gym. Treadmills, exercise bikes, weights, benches, racks, resistance equipment and yoga mats all classify here. The second is 9506.99.00, the residual "other" line for sports equipment not specified anywhere else, also at 50%, which is where hockey sticks land. The third is the strange one. Golf has three subheadings: 9506.31 for complete clubs, 9506.32 for balls, and 9506.39 for other golf equipment. Only 9506.39 was taken. So the clubs are not on the list, the balls are not on the list, and the bag, the tees, the head covers and the trolley are at 50%. Now the absences, which are most of the heading and cover most of what a sporting goods shop actually sells. Skis and ski bindings, 9506.11 and 9506.12, are not on the list. Water sports equipment including sailboards, 9506.21 and 9506.29, is not on the list. Table tennis, 9506.40, is not. Tennis, squash and badminton rackets, 9506.51 and 9506.59, are not. Balls of every kind - tennis balls, inflatable balls, other balls, 9506.61 through 9506.69 - are not. Ice skates and roller skates, 9506.70, are not. Fishing is split the same way as golf: rods at 9507.10.90 are 50%, while fish hooks at 9507.20 and reels at 9507.30 are absent. And the whole of chapter 64, footwear, is absent - running shoes, cleats and skate boots are not on this list. Nor is chapter 95 heading 9503, toys. What is left on the list is home gym equipment, hockey sticks, golf accessories, fishing rods, and track suits and similar garments at 6211.

Articles and equipment for general physical exercise, gymnastics or athletics; other sports equipment; fishing rods; track suits and other garments

50%
Tariff items behind this rate (8)
  • 9506.39.0050%Golf clubs and other golf equipment: Other
  • 9506.91.0050%Other: Articles and equipment for general physical exercise, gymnastics or athletics
  • 9506.99.0050%Other: Other
  • 9507.10.9050%Fishing rods: Other
  • 6211.32.0050%Other garments, men's or boys': Of cotton
  • 6211.33.0050%Other garments, men's or boys': Of man-made fibres
  • 6211.43.1050%Other garments, women's or girls': Of man-made fibres: Saris
  • 6211.43.9050%Other garments, women's or girls': Of man-made fibres: Other

What people get wrong

The exposure here is narrower than a 50% headline suggests and it is concentrated in one place: home fitness equipment. That is the part of this category where American manufacturing is real and where a shopper is most likely to buy a large US-origin item. Everything else on the list is either an accessory or a garment, and most of the sporting goods shop - skates, skis, rackets, balls, running shoes - is not on the list at all. Canadian manufacturing in fitness equipment is thin. Several Canadian companies sell home gym equipment and describe themselves as proudly Canadian, but selling and manufacturing are different claims, and none of the ones checked here states where its equipment is made. This site does not know where the Canadian fitness brands manufacture, and says so rather than filling the gap with an assumption about the industry. Bells of Steel is the clearest case: a Calgary company with showrooms in Calgary and Toronto, describing itself as proudly Canadian since 2010, which is a statement about the business rather than about where the steel was bent. That does not make it a bad answer - a Canadian company importing from Asia is not importing from the United States, which is the question this measure actually asks - but it is not a made-in-Canada answer and this site will not record it as one.

Work out what this adds to a purchase

What to buy instead
  • Bells of Steel

    Home gym equipment, racks, barbells and plates

    Source: bellsofsteel.com · checked 2026-08-26

    Origin unconfirmedReported by a third party

    Where it is made: Not published. Canadian company with showrooms in Calgary and Toronto

    The Canadian name a reader looking for home gym equipment will find first, and worth including precisely because of what it does and does not establish. Bells of Steel is a Calgary company, describes itself as proudly Canadian since 2010, and runs showrooms in Calgary and Toronto - all of which is about the business rather than the metalwork. It does not say where its racks, bars and plates are made, and in this industry that is very unlikely to be Canada. Recorded as unconfirmed for that reason. Two practical notes. Buying from a Canadian company that imports from Asia still answers the question this measure asks, because the surtax applies to US-origin goods and not to Canadian retailers. And home gym equipment at 9506.91.00 is the single most exposed line in this entry, so it is also the one where checking the origin marking is actually worth the trouble.

    Visit Bells of Steel